Five days..

Five days left until I’ve finished all the coursework that enables me to be a teacher. That’s pretty scary – because the closer that I get to the end of the course, the more I realise how little I actually know.

I’ve just finished writing a paper on Numeracy issues and one of those continually repeated mantras was that teachers out on the APY Lands are inexperienced, enthusiastic but unable to translate that enthusiasm into success because of the lack of experience. That worries me. Am I just part of the problem? Am I about to tourist teach? Am I ready to teach?

In two weeks, I head out to my town to meet the fellas, teachers, teach for a week and curriculum plan. I guess I’ll know more about my capacity then. My confidence might be completely destroyed or indeed built up…

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Education

Leave a Reply

